top of page

Review: Smile Big, dream Bigger

I think “Smile Big, Dream Bigger is a good book. I like so many things about the book, especially how the main character Samantha talks to the reader and ask questions. I felt like I was talking to a friend while I was reading this book and that made me enjoy the book even more. Samantha does not live in a good neighborhood. There is violence and sometimes it is hard for Samantha and her family to sleep at night. But Samantha and her family all love each other very much and when they are together they smile to make their troubles go away. Samantha also has big dreams. She likes to read and she wants to be like Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. This book made me smile for so many reasons. I smiled because I’m grateful to have a loving family just like Samantha does. I also smiled because I know when other kids read this book they will want to be a leader and make a difference in their communities just like Samantha.

This book can show kids that no matter where they live or who they live with they can be anything they want to be if they dream big.

About the book

Growing up in the inner city of Saint Louis, Missouri, Samantha is surrounded by violence and despair. However, Samantha and her family use a particular gesture, a smile that helps them to get through hard times. When Samantha smiles she dreams of a better future for her community, her family, and herself. Samantha has made a promise to live up to her dream, while always wearing a smile.

About the author

My name is Andrea Scott and I am a Spanish Teacher at a local immersion school in St. Louis, Missouri. Education is a very important factor in my life, and it has been ever since I was a little girl. I was born and raised in Saint Louis, Missouri with three siblings and a single mother. I am determined to not only fulfill my dreams, but I plan to become the example that dreams do come true.As an author, I see myself fulfilling this mission when I work with young students from high-risk environments; however, my students motivate me to want to do more. I believe that life has so much it offer, and I am anxious to discover some of it greatest gifts.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page